Becoming, pt. 1

Leave a comment

October 18, 2015 by Carly Smyly

My job has been in ministry since 2003… all but 2 of these years have been in the Christian camping industry. The mission of all my ministry positions has been to create experiences for others to encounter Jesus. Whether in a church or at camp, whether through climbing walls, music dramas, or sermons the focus of the last 12 years of my life has been getting others to encounter Jesus and make a decision to follow Jesus.

Since sophomore year of high school I have had opportunity after opportunity to lead and to mentor those younger than me. Whether serving in school clubs, through residence life in college, formal mentoring relationships, or though my paid ministry job, mentoring has been a part of my life and a focus of my ministry.

In my jobs and my mentoring consistent themes and questions that arise center around identity: Who am I? What am I supposed to do? What does God want me to be? What will I be when I grow up? Who will I marry?

IMG_0423All are very finite questions. All assume that there is a destination at which to arrive. But what I’ve come to know over the years is that we are always becoming.

It’s not about a one-time decision or a single destination. It’s about daily decisions and numerous destinations when combined continually lead you to becoming the very good creation God formed you to be.

Hear this though friend: You will never become what “it” is. You will continue becoming what and who God intended you to be. You are a conscious, living, intelligent being and will never stop changing, learning, and growing.

Not all changing is good – shoot I would love to not have gained 30-lbs of happy weight after getting married. But I did. The good change – getting married. The bad change – gaining weight. Still it’s all change. There are worse changes in some of our lives and some can be avoided by daily decisions of self-control and discipline.

  • Maybe you’re on a path to becoming someone you’ve always dreamed of being.
  • Maybe you feel completely fulfilled and are confident you’re becoming the man/woman God created you to be.
  • Maybe in your journey you’re becoming someone you never thought you’d be and don’t really want to be.

In each of these you have the ability to continue in the same direction or divert from it.


Reflection

  1. Who are you becoming?
  2. What path are you on and where is it taking you?
  3. Who do you want to become and what must you do to begin becoming this?

My Prayer

Jesus, please help me and my readers to know just exactly who it is you have created each of us to be. Please help us to know who we are now and who we are becoming on our current paths. May you align who each of us wants to be with who you created us to be. May we love you, love others, and love ourselves well. May we constantly take one step closer to becoming the very good creation you made each of us to be. Amen.

Join the Conversation

RECENT THOUGHTS

PAST THOUGHTS

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

